Skip to content

J-Lo for Senate!

December 16, 2008

So Caroline Kennedy wants Hillary’s Senate seat? What exactly makes her worthy of consideration? Ah, my fault: her last name, bien sûr! But the French Cowboy is with Ackerman on this:

“I don’t know what Caroline Kennedy’s qualifications are, except that she has name recognition, but so does J.Lo,” another Queens congressman, Gary Ackerman, quipped during a radio interview Monday. “I wouldn’t make J.Lo the senator unless she proved she had great qualifications, but we haven’t seen them yet.”

Hey, if the choice is between Caroline Kennedy and J-Lo, I will vote for the Latin American dancer/singer/actress. The two probably don’t differ much when it comes to political views, but J-Lo’s younger, she can dance, she can sing (well, a bit), and she brings more star allure to D.C.

So Caroline Kennedy has “made an enormous difference in New York City”? I bet J-Lo did so, too, with all her concerts, films and whatnot.

Another booster is Washington Post columnist Ruth Marcus, who recently enthused: “On the question of Caroline Kennedy for Senate, my head says no, on balance. My heart says yes! Yes! … What really draws me to the notion of Caroline as senator, though, is the modern fairy tale quality of it all.”

Let me see… J-Lo for Senate? My head says no, on balance, but my heart says yes! A modern fairy tale! From Maid in Manhatten to Senator of New York! Sing with me: “Don’t be fooled by the votes that I got, I’m still, I’m still Jenny from the block! No matter where I go I know where I come from!”

And former sports columnist Mike Lupica of the Daily News, the tabloid that has long appealed to the city’s cops and firefighters, praised [Caroline Kennedy’s] “quiet grace.”

Quiet grace! Pah! Who wants that? I say: “Let’s get loud!”

Leave a Reply

