Skip to content

Sarah Palin’s Independence Day

July 4, 2009

The French Cowboy has to admit that when he learned about Sarah Palin’s intention to resign from her position as the governor of Alaska effectively within the next weeks, his first thought was that this means the end of Madame Palin’s political career. Albeit regretting this outlook, I had the same notion as Monsieur Steyn that Palin was basically facing the choice between an insanity circus on the one hand and the chance to live a fulfilling life with her family on the other hand – while doing whatever pleases her. Voyez, the French Cowboy would have loved to see her fight on in the ring of politics but it’s true that the place has become very unattractive for any sane person.

Yet after having read her statement as to why she decided to step down the French Cowboy has recovered hope that we might see more of this formidable person in the future – and not just in leftwing media ridiculing her. I for one believe Palin when she says:

I’ve never believed that I, nor anyone else, needs a title to do this – to make a difference… to help people. So I choose, for my State and my family, more “freedom” to progress, all the way around… so that Alaska may progress… I will not seek re-election as Governor.

And so as I thought about this announcement that I wouldn’t run for re-election and what it means for Alaska, I thought about how much fun some governors have as lame ducks… travel around the state, to the Lower 48 (maybe), overseas on international trade – as so many politicians do. And then I thought – that’s what’s wrong – many just accept that lame duck status, hit the road, draw the paycheck, and “milk it”. I’m not putting Alaska through that – I promised efficiencies and effectiveness! That’s not how I am wired. I am not wired to operate under the same old “politics as usual.” I promised that four years ago – and I meant it.

I already saw a few conservatives trashing Madame Palin’s statement for all kinds of reasons. It is this kind of classless stupidity that makes me think Republicans deserve to lose to the Democrats as they do. Sarah Palin was and is loved by vast groups of voters because she is genuine and honest, not at all like a politician. People are sick of empty promises and a person like Palin has the potential to gain voters’ trust because of her unconventional style. Her decision to quit the governorship is an unusual one and one that the pundits will bang their heads against from all directions. But Sarah Palin’s position as a politician is a very unusual one as well: how many political figures have been attacked as hysterically and viciously as she has been? A power-hungry Clinton would have clung to her position with all her might. A Sarah Palin won’t sacrifice her sanity for the sake of playing by the unwritten rules of dog-eat-dog politics where lying into people’s faces is bread and butter.

With her authenticity and honesty Sarah Palin is a sort of Anti-Obama. Sadly, of course, Obama has won a presidential election. So the question is whether after having elected the one who promised the end of “politics as usual” the American people will vote for the person who ended politics as usual.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

