Skip to content

Quotes of the Week

July 19, 2009

Kindle owners on Amazon erasing their purchased digital versions of George Orwell’s “1984” and “Animal Farm” after a copyright claim was made:

“I never imagined that Amazon actually had the right, the authority or even the ability to delete something that I had already purchased.”

“As a Kindle owner, I’m frustrated. I can’t lend people books and I can’t sell books that I’ve already read, and now it turns out that I can’t even count on still having my books tomorrow.”

Justin Gawronski, a 17-year-old from the Detroit area, was reading “1984” on his Kindle for a summer assignment and lost all his notes and annotations when the file vanished. “They didn’t just take a book back, they stole my work,” he said.

“If this Kindle breaks, I won’t buy a new one, that’s for sure[.]”

H/T Allahpundit

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

