Skip to content

National Politically-Correct Radio

October 21, 2010

So opinion journalist Juan Williams got fired by NPR for expressing his opinion. That’s stupid enough in the Land of Free Speech, but it’s even more stupid because Monsieur Williams expressed an entirely natural and human opinion, more of a feeling, really (H/T Hotair):

Did you notice the offensive part? Williams said,

I mean, look, Bill, I’m not a bigot. You know the kind of books I’ve written about the civil rights movement in this country. But when I get on the plane, I got to tell you, if I see people who are in Muslim garb and I think, you know, they are identifying themselves first and foremost as Muslims, I get worried. I get nervous.

That, according to NPR’s statement, is “inconsistent with our editorial standards and practices, and undermine[s] his [William’s] credibility as a news analyst with NPR.” Really? Makes you wonder about their “standards and practices” and seriously damages their cherished “credibility”.

The above-linked New York Times story mentions that it’s always been a huge problem for NPR that Williams was a regular contributor to Fox News. Obviously, it’s inconsistent with NPR’s standards to communicate with people to their right.

What’s especially sad about this story is that Monsieur Williams is a good news analyst and that NPR actually isn’t that bad. The French Cowboy likes Williams. Sure, as far as I can tell he has more views I disagree with than views I agree with, but he’s a reasonable, smart and likable character. And NPR is good to listen to. Make no mistake, they look at everything from the left and in some cases they have a tendency to tell only one side of a story (guess which one). But all in all, it’s not often that I get seriously annoyed by NPR’s bias.

Maybe it’s that I’ve gotten so used to calculate the ever-present lefty bias into the product of every news organisation — except Fox — that I can say that NPR is pretty good. Maybe it’s because I like most of their music interludes.

Either way, the French Cowboy wishes Monsieur Williams the best for his future career. Getting fired for this reason by an organisation as NPR is actually something to wear as a badge of honour.

Update:

Because of their decision to fire Monsieur Williams, I’m considering to boycott NPR. Prends ça, National Public Radio!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

