Skip to content

Hillary: ‘Let Me Be Clear…’

November 22, 2010

Here’s an interesting exchange between Secretary of State Hillary Clinton and Fox News’ Chris Wallace (what Clinton left unsaid the French Cowboy has added in squared brackets):

WALLACE: Secretary, one final question. You made some news recently in Australia when you ruled out running again for office in 2012 and 2016. Why?

CLINTON: Well, first of all, I love what I’m doing. I can’t tell you what it’s like, Chris, to every day get to represent the United States, and it’s why I feel so strongly about every issue from, you know, START to Afghanistan. [Of course, if I were the president then I’d get to represent the US at least as much as I do now! And, considering how strongly I feel about the issues, I probably should find a way to get to represent the US even more than I do now.]

WALLACE: But are you — are you categorically saying that you are done with political office…

CLINTON: I — I have said…

WALLACE: … elected office?

CLINTON: I have said it over and over again, and I’m happy to say it on your show as well. I am committed to doing what I can to advance the security, the interests and the values of the United States of America. [And which way to better advance the security, the interests and the values of the USA than by becoming the next president?]

I believe that what I’m doing right now is in furtherance of that, and I’m very proud and grateful to be doing it. [And a person who’s so proud and grateful for her current job deserves a promotion, doesn’t she? Furtherance indeed!]

WALLACE: So you’re done with elective office?

[Ed.: After having basically answered “no” to variations of this question for two times by now, Mme Clinton can’t escape for a third time.]

CLINTON: I am. I am very happy doing what I’m doing, and I am not in any way interested in or pursuing anything in elective office. [Officially, that is. For now.]

I think that Mme Clinton has made it perfectly clear that she won’t be telling us how concrete her plans for winning the presidency are at this stage. If she were Barack Obama, she would’ve begun her sentences with “Let me be clear”, because that’s the President’s usual introduction when he subsequently is as clear as mud.

Plus sérieusement, the French Cowboy has no idea whether Madame Secretary is really planning for a shot at the presidency, at least in 2012. This enterprise would face a couple of daunting risks, first and foremost the possibility that her own party will turn against her. But as a nominee, Hillary would be dangerous. She (still) has a strong following, friends in high places, and the ability to slide along the policy spectrum without losing too much credibility. After the Obama experiment, I suspect that even among centre right voters not a few would forget that Mme Clinton is a child of the progressive Left.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

